Republic of North Macedionia?

The parliament of the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia (FYROM) approved the constitutional changes tabled by the government of Zoran Zaev based on the Prespes Agreement on Friday evening, with 81 votes for and none against, ANA reports.

The four amendments ratified under summary procedures change the country’s name to “Republic of North Macedonia”; update the preamble of the constitution; redefine the state’s role in terms of the diaspora; as well as establish FYROM’s respect of territorial integrity and national sovereignty of its neighbouring states. 


When Macedonia declared independence during the break-up of Yugoslavia in 1991, Greece objected to its new neighbour’s name.

Present-day Macedonia and northern Greece were part of a Roman province called Macedonia. And both claim the heritage of Alexander the Great two millennia earlier.

  • Macedonia country profile

Greece’s objections forced the UN to refer to the new country as “the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia”.

Athens also vetoed Macedonia’s attempt to join Nato in 2008 – and blocked its EU membership ambitions.

Since 1991, many suggestions have been proposed, then rejected.

But a change of government in Macedonia in 2017 finally brought the start of serious negotiations, which led to the deal reached last year.

What happens next?

Under the agreement, the country’s language will be called Macedonian and its people known as Macedonians (citizens of the Republic of North Macedonia).

The new name will be used both internationally and bilaterally, so that even the 140 or more countries that recognise the name Macedonia will also have to adopt North Macedonia. In Macedonian, the name is Severna Makedonija.

Source- and

One thought on “Republic of North Macedionia?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

error: Content is protected !!